Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A question about giant files in .cagefs/tmp folder on shared hosting

Hi there

Im quite new to this, no profi and so request you to bear this mind.
    I have been using Cpanel at different web hosts for many years to manage mostly small sites, all on shared servers.

An example is the Germany-based current host, where I have 3 small sites sharing a 50GB account, 2 of which are add-on domains, 2 Wordpress, 1 Drupal based.

They have, ever since I moved them together about a year ago been taking up mostly less, but not too long ago at most 33% of this space.

About 2 weeks ago, I noted more or less by accident that the usage of disk space had jumped to 40%, although I have added no content & if so not more than a few hundred MBs. Today its almost 52%.
    After looking around in Cpanel for what could be using up this space, I came across some strange files in the folder .cagefs/tmp, some of which, as you see in the screenshot are between 2.5 & 2.8GB (!!) and below them, apparently probably hundreds of 0 byte files, which seem to be created constantly.

Since I have never had anything like this, or at least noticed it, I contacted the web host, a notable one this end and asked about them, what they are, what could be generating them, as in my many years of Drupal & Wordpress use, have never been aware of them, .. whether they are safe and whether one could safely delete them.

The response suggests the web host support personnel were not aware of what they are. They assured me they are not from "them", that I should scan them with an antivirus and if I wanted to delete them, probably first make a back-up.